Chapter 8

Disclaimer: If we owned the show, we’d probably both be a lot more excited about having to work in the morning…

Moving home had been the possibly the best decision Derek had ever made. He hadn’t questioned it once in the month since he had gotten back to New York but it was nights like this that he was happiest to be back home. His sisters might drive him nuts most of the time, but now that he was home, he had no idea how he had spent that much time away. It just felt right to be sitting with his family as they laughed and teased and asked for advice on the kids or their work. They had always been a close family and while he was sure their nosiness had bothered him at some point, right now he felt completely grateful. His large but tight knit family was completely incredible. It was loud, it was loud enough that he had had ex-girlfriend complain about it in the past but he didn’t care. His family had all struggled through enough, and he was sure more hard times would come but they always stayed strong, always stayed them and it felt so good to be here again.

His eyes moved around the room as Kath told an old story about the twins, though everyone still laughed like it was new. Mom was sitting in Dad’s old arm chair, a soft smile on her features as she sewed a tear in Cam’s teddy bear. Soph and Brian were practically wrapped around each other, and Derek knew that Brian had given Soph the last bite of his chocolate cake, if not the entire slice. Emily was curled into Marty’s side, both of their hands resting on her stomach and Nancy was sitting by Peter’s feet. It was peaceful and he was sure it didn’t last, it never did, but it was nice for now. It was really nice. Derek loved this, more than he could even remember loving it before he had left. Clearly that absence makes the heart grow fonder was something.

He was even starting to realize he had missed Mark, as ridiculous as that sounded. His best friend was a moron, but he was like a brother, and Derek had missed having his friend around, though he would never admit it. It just felt so incredibly good to be home. Actually he wasn’t going to admit that to anyone at all, he’d never hear the end of it if he admitted to any of these people that he was happy to be home. LA hadn’t been a mistake, it had been wonderful for his career and he’d do it again if he could do it over but being home was good. It was good to be able to pop by to check on his mom, who didn’t really need checking on, during the week, and it was even better to leave the stress of the hospital in the city and just come here once a week, to play with the nieces and nephews and tease his sisters. The kids were all off playing right now, but he was pretty sure he wouldn’t mind if they came stampeding through. It was just good to have this peace away from the hospital.

Peace in LA had been a bar with some colleague or just relaxing at home. Sometimes, when he found the time, he’d sneak away for a hike but never nearly as often as he wished so this was a nice change, a really nice change. And when it got nicer, he was sure he was going to find some more time to get hiking in here. Probably some fishing too, which really excited him. It was going to be a harsh winter, with record snowfalls, so being able to get out to his old fishing hole would be awesome. This had been exactly what he had been hoping for when he moved back home, and thankfully, it wasn’t turning out to be some weird fantasy. He was actually happy.

“Earth to Derek…”

“What?” He looked up.

“You’re a million miles away,” Sophie laughed.

“Sorry,” he laughed, grabbing for his coffee mug.

“It’s fine, just…wondering where you went.”

“Just thinking, Soph.”

“Missing the silence in LA?” Nancy smirked.

“No,” he rolled his eyes.

“Probably thinking about surgery knowing Der,” Emily laughed.

“I do miss being able to think without everyone trying to figure out what I’m thinking aboit,” he teased.

“Should have thought about that before coming home,” Sophie grinned.

“Apparently.”

“You know us.”

“I do,” he agreed. “I’m just thinking. Don’t worry about it.”

“Fine,” Sophie sighed.

“Thank you, Soph.”

“I’m only dropping it because you haven’t been home long. Don’t get used to it.”

“Do I get to find out your every thought?” He raised an eyebrow.

“No.”

“That doesn’t seem fair.”

“You’re the only boy.”

“And?”

“Life isn’t fair.”

“Mom, why didn’t you have another boy?” Derek groaned.

“Well you don’t really have any control over that kind of thing, sweetheart,” Mom laughed. “You found Mark though.”

“Yeah, what am I?” Mark frowned.

“A pain in the ass?” Derek smirked.

“Boys…” Mom warned.

“Sorry, Ma,” Derek sighed.

“Sorry, Mom,” Mark nodded.

“Just…behave for once,” Mom shook her head.

“Yeah, Shep, behave.”

“I always behave.”

“They have a lot of misbehaving to catch up on, Ma,” Emily explained.

“They were separated for far too long,” Sophie nodded.

“I’m still surprised Mark didn’t follow Derek to LA,” Kathleen laughed.

“So am I,” Derek nodded.

“I’m my own person,” Mark frowned.

“Yes, who happens to be rather attached to another person,” Kathleen nodded.

“Obviously not since I stayed here for seven years.”

“Looking like a lost puppy.”

“Was not.”

“You were,” Emily agreed.

“I wasn’t!”

“Sure.”

“Children, please,” Mom sighed.

“You love this, Ma,” Derek grinned.

“I’m just wondering when my adult children start to behave like adults.”

“Never when we’re together.”

“Wonderful,” Mom smiled.

“Derek’s right, Ma. You do love it,” Nancy shrugged.

“I love that my children are all together and happy,” Mom nodded.

“It feels good,” Derek nodded.

“Derek missed us,” Emily grinned.

“I didn’t say that,” Derek shook his head.

“You said it feels good, you missed us.”

“That’s not…”

“I knew you did,” Sophie grinned.

“I definitely didn’t say that.”

“We missed you too,” Emily nodded.

“Well I know that,” Derek smiled.

“Who did you miss most?” Sophie asked.

“I’m not answering that.”

“Mom doesn’t count,” Nancy stated. “So…who?”

“I said I’m not answering that,” Derek shook his head.

“Why not?”

“Because whatever I say, someone is going to be pissed.”

“Smart man,” Brian laughed. “He learned the first lesson of marriage without getting married.”

“You also learn it growing up with four sisters.”

“Explains Brian’s problem,” Ethan nodded.

“He’s just an idiot,” Derek shrugged.

“How did this turn on me?” Brian frowned.

“It always does,” Sophie laughed.

“Shouldn’t you be standing up for me?” Brian asked.

“God no.”

“Aren’t you my wife?”

“Yeah but you know I’m not that kind of wife,” Sophie shrugged.

“That’s true,” Brian sighedm

“You married me.”

“I did.”

“So…”

“So we all make bad decisions when we’re young,” Brian laughed.

“This is why I hate you.”

“You love me,” Brian kissed her.

“Yeah yeah.”

“Let’s face it, Marty lucked out with the relaxed Shepherd girl,” Ethan shrugged.

“That I did,” Marty nodded.

“Just because I’m relaxed doesn’t mean I’m easy to live with,” Emily rolled her eyes. “And the fact you guys have thought about this is weird.”

“It really isn’t,” Marty shook his head. “And you’re great to live with it.”

“Marty doesn’t count,” Peter frowned. “He’s whipped.”

“I am not,” Marty groaned.

“He’s not,” Emily shook her head. “We’re just…”

“A very good couple,” Marty nodded.

“Perfect for each other,” Emily grinned.

“Entirely,” Marty smiled, kissing Emily quickly.

“I still think it’s weird our husbands have discussed who lucked out with which Shepherd sister though,” Emily shifted, curling closer to Marty.

“It wasn’t a discussion on purpose, it just kind of happened,” Marty shrugged.

“Over a lot of beer,” Brian nodded.

“A lot,” Peter nodded.

“A little bit of whiskey too,” Ethan snorted. “Peter was a mess.”

“Mainly because he lost,” Brian smiled. “Sorry, Nancy.”

“How did he lose?” Nancy glanced up at her husband.

“It’s not important, Nance,” Peter shook his head.

“I’m curious,” Sophie leaned forward. “How exactly were we ranked? Em apparently is the best.”

“Then Kath, then Sophie,” Marty nodded.

“Wait, I’m below Kath?” Sophie gasped.

“You do tend to be…over the top,” Kathleen shrugged.

“I do not!”

“You do.”

“This is crap,” Sophie shook her head. “You’re totally sleeping on the couch tonight, Brian.”

“What did I do?” Brian frowned.

“You let them rank me like…like a piece of meat!”

“We were drunk and we did it to all of you.”

“And you let them put me second to last!”

“I feel like this may be proving a point,” Derek laughed slightly.

“Shut up, Derbear.”

“I’m just saying…”

“I say we change the subject,” Mom interrupted. “Obviously, the boys lost their common sense that night.”

“Obviously,” Sophie rolled her eyes.

“And possibly failed to find it again, ” Mom said sternly.

“Sorry, Mom,” Marty sighed.

“Yeah, sorry,” Brian mumbled.

“Sorry,” Ethan echoed.

“Sorry,” Peter finished.

“Well…how’s the new job going, Derek?” Kathleen asked.

“Oh,” Derek nodded. “It’s great.”

“Oh that’s good to hear.”

“The people are great, the surgeries are challenging, and I don’t feel like I’m drowning in paperwork yet.”

“That’s really good,” Nancy smiled.

“Are you making friends, dear?” Mom asked.

“I am,” Derek nodded. “It’s a good group.”

“Oh, yeah, friends,” Mark snorted.

“I have friends,” Derek groaned.

“Who? Who is your friend?”

“I’ve made some friends.”

“Name one.”

“I went out for drinks with the head of traume the other night,” Derek shrugged.

“That would be an acquaintance.”

“I haven’t been there that long but I’m making friends,” Derek groaned.

“Okay, Shep.”

“I have friends, I hear plenty of gossip.”

“Oh, yeah?”

“Yeah,” Derek nodded. “Speaking of…why didn’t you bring Lexie with you today?”

“Who’s Lexie?” Sophie frowned as Mark’s face went pale and his mouth opened and closed.

“Oh shit, you haven’t told the family about her yet?” Derek faked a frown.

“About who?” Emily demanded.

“Lexie,” Derek shrugged.

“Who the hell is Lexie?” Nancy asked. “And why is Mark turning red?”

“God, he’s turning bright red,” Sophie breathed.

“Mark, breathe,” Emily advised. “Are you choking?”

“I think he’s just freaking out,” Derek laughed.

“Who is Lexie?” Nancy repeated.

“What’s going on?” Mom frowned.

“Shep…Shep had…” Mark stammered.

“Shep had?” Sophie frowned.

“Lexie is Mark’s girlfriend,” Derek smiled at his friend.

“Mark has a girlfriend?” Sophie gasped.

“Yeah. They’ve been dating for a while. He got her a tennis bracelet for her birthday…sent flowers…”

“Mark Sloan is dating a girl?” Nancy breathe. “One girl? And he buys her gifts?”

“Why didn’t you bring her, sweetheart?” Mom asked. “We would love to meet her.”

“She’s not my girl…she’s not…we’re…” Mark shook his head.

“What are you?” Kathleen asked.

“We’re just…she’s…Lexie…she’s Lexie…”

“Well she’s clearly not a fuck buddy,” Sophie pointed out. “Sorry, Ma.”

“She’s not a girl…girl…” Mark gasped.

“He can’t even deny it,” Nancy laughed. “Mark has a girlfriend!”

“This is amazing,” Emily breathed.

“What’s she like? Is she a doctor?” Sophie asked.

“She’s a neuro resident at the hospital,” Derek nodded. “She’s good.”

“Is she pretty?”

“She is,” Derek smiled.

“Where’s your phone, Mark?” Emily asked.

“Phone?” Mark frowned.

“For pictures of your girlfriend.”

“I don’t…not…girl…”

“Table, Soph,” Emily nodded to where Mark’s phone was sitting.

“Perfect,” Sophie grinned, grabbing for the phone.

“Soph…” Mark groaned as he buried his head in his hands.

“Oh my god, is that her?” Sophie gasped turning the phone to show everyone. “A picture of them is his lock screen!”

“Let me see!” Emily reached for the phone.

“That is so cute, Mark,” Sophie smiled.

“Oh god…” Mark groaned.

“She’s really pretty,” Emily smiled. “Looks young…”

“Well, Mark’s head of plastics and she’s a resident so…” Kathleen shrugged.

“True,” Emily nodded.

“She’s really pretty, though,” Sophie grinned. “Do you know her, Derek?”

“She’s neuro so yeah,” Derek nodded.

“Do you work with her a lot?”

“I’ve worked with her a few times. Her older sister is one of my attendings so they jump on cases together a lot.”

“Speaking of her older sister,” Mark started.

“Mark…” Derek sighed. “You had this coming so…don’t.”

“What is she like, Derek?” Nancy asked. “Mark, unlock your phone and show us more pictures.”

“She’s really nice, insanely smart…not sure why she’s dating Mark.”

“Have you seen them together?”

“Briefly.”

“And?” Emily asked.

“They’re…cute together,” Derek shrugged. “They seem happy.”

“We are,” Mark grumbled.

“He admits to it,” Sophie laughed.

“She’s just…she’s…” Mark groaned. “Fine, she’s my girlfriend.”

“I am so happy to hear that, sweetheart,” Mom smiled.

“Yeah,” Mark sighed.

“It’s about time.”

“Mom, look how cute they are,” Emily handed the phone over.

“Oh Mark…” Mom breathed.

“Guys, we’re just…she’s just my girlfriend,” Mark groaned, his face still red.

“Just your girlfriend as if that happens every day,” Nancy laughed.

“And you guys wonder why I wasn’t saying anything.”

“Mark, we’re just really happy for you,” Emily smiled.

“And we want to meet her,” Mom nodded. “There’s no reason to be ashamed of us, Mark.”

“Yeah, Mark,” Derek nodded. “Don’t be ashamed of your family.”

“You know, I’m still a lot bigger than you,” Mark pointed out. “I can kick your ass.”

“Threats in front of Mom…”

“I’m not ashamed of my family,” Mark sighed, rubbing his jaw. “It’s a lot and we’re taking it slow.”

“How long has it been?” Emily asked.

“I…officially? Four months,” Mark sighed.

“Four months?” Sophie gasped. “How slow are you taking this?”

“More importantly…what do you mean by officially?” Emily asked.

“We were friends…friendly friends for a bit,” Mark sighed.

“Friends with benefits,” Emily nodded. “For how long before you became official?”

“A couple of months.”

“So six months and you’re taking it slow?” Sophie gasped. “Come on, Mark.”

“The first two don’t count.”

“They do count. At some point, you decided over those two months you wanted to be with her. Do you love her?”

“Oh…yeah, I think so,” Mark said quietly, looking down at his hands.

“Holy shit,” Emily breathed.

“Yeah.”

“Markie’s in love,” Kathleen shook her head. “I never actually thought this day would come.”

“We don’t have to make a big deal about it,” Mark groaned.

“I do want to meet her, Mark,” Mom nodded.

“You will, Ma,” Mark nodded.

“Soon?”

“I…I’ll talk to her,” Mark sighed.

“Oh good,” Mom smiled warmly. “Let me know and I’ll make something special that day.”

“Mom…”

“Does she like lasagna?”

“She does,” Mark nodded.

“Then I can make lasagna.”

“Thanks, Ma. I’ll let you know.”

“I can’t wait,” Mom smiled widely.

“I still can’t believe this,” Sophie breathed.

“It’s a brave new world,’ Derek smirked.

“You’re her boss, right?”

“I am.”

“So if I were to stop by to see my big brother tomorrow, you could…show me around?” Sophie grinned.

“No,” Mark said firmly. “Absolutely not.”

“I just want to visit my brother!”

“Shep, I swear to God…”

“Sophie, give Mark a chance to bring her home,” Derek sighed. “But if he drags his feet…”

“Fine,” Sophie sighed. “Two weeks, Markie.”

“Two weeks?” Mark frowned.

“Two weeks and if we haven’t met her, Em and I are coming to the hospital.”

“Two weeks?” Mark frowned.

“Two weeks.”

“I’ll have to check Lexie’s schedule…” Mark breathed.

“Derek, make sure Lexie is free within the next two weeks,” Emily grinned.

“Will do,” Derek nodded.

“Wonderful,” Mark sighed.

“It is,” Sophie nodded.

“We’ll be happy to welcome a new member of the family,” Mom nodded.

“Ma, she’s not…we’re not…” Mark shook his head.

“Of course, dear, we won’t mention that to her.”

“Please don’t.”

“She must be pretty amazing if she got you to settle down,” Nancy laughed.

“She really is,” Mark breathed.

“Mark’s totally smitten,” Kathleen nodded knowingly.

“I’m not smitten,” Mark groaned.

“You totally are.”

“I’m not.”

“You are,” Derek agreed.

“You’re an idiot,” Mark sighed.

“Be nice, Sloan.”

“You weren’t.”

“Neither were you.”

“Boys,” Mom warned.

“Am I the only one who loves hearing Mom say that?” Emily asked.

“No definitely not,” Sophie laughed.

“You two are insane,” Mark groaned. “I’m going to grab another beer.”

“You love us,” Sophie grinned.

“I need beer to put up with you.”

“Yeah yeah.”

“We do it out of a place of love, Mark,” Kathleen nodded.

“Sure, I believe you,” Mark laughed.

“We love you, Markie,” Emily nodded.

“Of course,” Mark nodded. “Want another beer, Shep?”

“Yeah, but I’m coming with you before you poison it,” Derek stood.

“Well there goes that plan.”

“Too obvious,” Derek chuckled as he followed his brother out of the room. “You know you had it coming after the Meredith thing.”

“Yeah, I got that,” Mark sighed.

“And…think about how happy Mom is.”

“I was going to tell her eventually,” Mark sighed. “Lex has been on me.”

“Makes sense,” Derek nodded. “She seems…like the kind of girl who should be brought home to mom.”

“I know she is,” Mark nodded.

“So…be happy you found a great girl to bring home to mom.”

“I am,” Mark smiled.

“Good,” Derek clapped his brother on his back. “See? I ended up doing you a favor.”

“Yeah, because I wasn’t trying to avoid that at all,” Mark shook his head.

“Definitely not. You would never.”

“I still hate you.”

“You’re happy I’m back. Who else would give you shit?”

“No one which was nice.”

“You got too comfortable. ”

“Yeah yeah,” Mark sighed. “Let’s get back in there so they can torture me some more…no point of putting it off.”

“That’s the spirit,” Derek laughed as he followed his brother back into the living room. His sisters were all laughing and talking, the brothers-in-law were teasing the hell out of Mark, and Mom was in Dad’s chair, looking happier than ever. It was beyond good to finally be home.

Leave a comment